Home > Career > Question
Need Expert Advice?Our Gurus Can Help
Krishna

Krishna Kumar  |341 Answers  |Ask -

Workplace Expert - Answered on Feb 07, 2024

Krishna Kumar is the founder and CEO of GoMoTech, a company that provides strategic consulting in B2B sales, performance management and digital transformation.
Before branching out on his own, he worked with companies like Microsoft, Rediff, Flipkart and InMobi.
With over 25 years of experience under his belt, KK is a regular speaker at industry events and academic intuitions, both in India as well as abroad.
KK completed his MBA in marketing from the Sri Sathya Sai Institute of Higher Learning in Andhra Pradesh and his management development programme from XLRI, Jamshedpur.
He has also completed his LLB from Nagpur University and diploma in PR from Bhavan’s College of Management, Nagpur, where he was awarded a gold medal.... more
sindhu Question by sindhu on Jan 08, 2024Hindi
Listen
Career

hi sir I'm restarting my career after 8 years of career gap due to marriage and now I'm divorced and I'm 33 years old but sad part is i don't have a regular degree and it's listed under black list universities kindly suggest me a good path to earn well n settle myself

Ans: Dear Ms Sindhu

I can understand your thoughts situation.

If you could share more about your strengths and the industry you belong to that would help.

None the less I would suggest take up some certification courses depending upon your strengths it could be in sales, project management, IT, Digital Marketing and start fresh.

All the best
Career

You may like to see similar questions and answers below

R P

R P Yadav  |304 Answers  |Ask -

HR, Workspace Expert - Answered on Mar 14, 2024

Listen
Career
I am 50. Have been working from home because of the fact that my wife is a school teacher and our girl is only 8 years old. We do not and cannot afford a caretaker for the daughter so I decided to work from home. I am a website developer with basic skill set and thankfully, because of my long association with my firm, I am earning 20k pm. Our combined earnings are okay for now, but definitely, not going to be enough in the long run. I wanted to pursue MCA but could not because these colleges/institutions need either BSC/BCA or the fees are unaffordable. I am an Arts graduate (1995) and could not opt for higher studies as I had to start earning for my family - dependent (this word does not seem to be right but) sisters, brother and now parents. Any options or suggestions?
Ans: It’s commendable that you’ve been managing work from home to take care of your family. Considering your situation and background, let’s explore some options and suggestions:

Skill Enhancement:
Since you’re a website developer, consider enhancing your skill set. Learn more advanced web development technologies, frameworks, and tools. This can open up better-paying opportunities.
Explore front-end development, back-end development, and full-stack development. These skills are in demand.
Freelancing and Side Projects:
Leverage your web development skills to take on freelance projects. Websites like Upwork, Freelancer, and Fiverr offer opportunities to earn extra income.
Consider building your own portfolio website and showcasing your work. Potential clients often look for developers with a strong portfolio.
Online Courses and Certifications:
Pursue online courses in areas like UI/UX design, mobile app development, or e-commerce development.
Certifications from platforms like Coursera, edX, or Udacity can add credibility to your profile.
Explore MCA Alternatives:
While MCA might not be feasible due to eligibility criteria, consider other relevant courses.
Look into PG Diploma in Computer Applications (PGDCA). It’s a shorter program and may have more flexible entry requirements.
Some universities offer distance learning MCA programs. Research institutions that provide such options.
Networking and Collaboration:
Connect with other professionals in your field. Attend webinars, conferences, and meetups (even virtually).
Collaborate with other developers on projects. Networking can lead to referrals and job opportunities.
Financial Planning:
Given your combined earnings, create a financial plan. Set aside savings for your daughter’s education and your own future.
Explore investment options like mutual funds or fixed deposits.
Explore Government Schemes:
Investigate government schemes related to skill development, entrepreneurship, or small business loans.
Some schemes provide financial assistance for education or self-employment.
Content Creation and Blogging:
Share your knowledge through a blog or YouTube channel. Monetize it through ads or affiliate marketing.
Write about web development, coding tips, or technology trends.
Teaching and Training:
With your experience, consider teaching web development. You can offer online courses or workshops.
Platforms like Udemy allow instructors to create and sell courses.
Stay Updated:
Technology evolves rapidly. Keep learning and adapting to stay relevant.
Follow industry blogs, podcasts, and newsletters.
Remember that your determination and adaptability are your greatest assets. Explore options that align with your interests and family responsibilities. Best wishes on your journey

..Read more

Latest Questions
Moneywize

Moneywize   |122 Answers  |Ask -

Financial Planner - Answered on Jun 25, 2024

Asked by Anonymous - Jun 13, 2024Hindi
Listen
Money
Ours is a family of 3 people -- My wife, I and my daughter who is 15. I am 39, my wife is 37 and our monthly expenses are Rs 90K. I own my house and expect to have no fixed income after 65 years, and expect to live till 75. Considering the ever increasing price rise what should be my corpus at 65 for me to continue living the life style I am living today?
Ans: Calculating your retirement corpus:

Here's how to estimate the corpus you'll need to maintain your current lifestyle after retirement:

1. Retirement period:

You plan to retire at 65 and expect to live till 75. So, your retirement period is 75 - 65 = 10 years.

2. Inflation adjustment:

You've rightly considered inflation. To estimate future expenses, we need to factor in inflation. A safe assumption for India is 5-7% inflation. Let's take an average of 6%.

3. Current monthly expenses:

You spend Rs 90,000 per month currently.

4. Future monthly expenses:

To find the monthly expense at retirement (at 65), we need to consider inflation for 26 years (39 years till retirement + 10 years retirement).

You can use an inflation calculator online or a simple formula:

Future monthly expense = Current monthly expense * (1 + Inflation rate)^number of years

In your case, Future monthly expense = Rs 90,000 * (1 + 0.06)^26 ≈ Rs 3,28,550 (approximately Rs 3.29 lakh)

5. Total corpus calculation:

Now you can calculate the total corpus needed. Here's a common approach:

Total corpus = Monthly expense * Number of years in retirement * 12 (months)

However, this method doesn't consider the fact that you'll be withdrawing money every month, reducing the corpus. A more accurate method is using the Time Value of Money (TVM) concept. There are online TVM calculators or Excel functions you can use.

Here's an alternative approach that provides a reasonable estimate:

Multiply the future monthly expense (Rs 3.29 lakh) by a factor considering inflation over the period. This factor can vary depending on your risk tolerance and investment strategy. A factor of 200 is often used as a conservative estimate.
Total corpus = Rs 3.29 lakh/month * 200 (factor) = Rs 6.58 crore (approximately Rs 658 million)

Additional factors to consider:

• Daughter's future expenses: Your daughter will be an adult by the time you retire. While she won't be financially dependent, consider any potential future support you might want to provide for her education or marriage.
• Healthcare costs: Healthcare expenses tend to increase with age. Factor in potential medical needs during retirement.
• Debt: If you have any outstanding debt by the time you retire, you'll need to account for its repayment in your corpus calculation.
• Investment returns: The corpus amount assumes a certain rate of return on your investments. Research different investment options and their potential returns to refine your calculations.

Recommendation:

Consult a financial advisor for a personalised retirement plan considering your specific financial situation, risk tolerance, and investment goals. They can help you create a more comprehensive plan and suggest suitable investment strategies to achieve your corpus target.

Remember, this is an estimate. Regularly review your plan and adjust it based on changing circumstances.

...Read more

Mayank

Mayank Chandel  |1003 Answers  |Ask -

IIT-JEE, NEET-UG, SAT, CLAT, CA, CS Exam Expert - Answered on Jun 24, 2024

DISCLAIMER: The content of this post by the expert is the personal view of the rediffGURU. Investment in securities market are subject to market risks. Read all the related document carefully before investing. The securities quoted are for illustration only and are not recommendatory. Users are advised to pursue the information provided by the rediffGURU only as a source of information and as a point of reference and to rely on their own judgement when making a decision. RediffGURUS is an intermediary as per India's Information Technology Act.

Close  

You haven't logged in yet. To ask a question, Please Log in below
Login

A verification OTP will be sent to this
Mobile Number / Email

Enter OTP
A 6 digit code has been sent to

Resend OTP in120seconds

Dear User, You have not registered yet. Please register by filling the fields below to get expert answers from our Gurus
Sign up

By signing up, you agree to our
Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy

Already have an account?

Enter OTP
A 6 digit code has been sent to Mobile

Resend OTP in120seconds

x